Schooling System in Canada

Moving to Canada with your family? The Canadian schooling system will provide your child with the best and supportive learning environment.

School education in Canada is generally divided into four stages:

1. Pre-school or kindergarten
(for 4-5-year-olds)

the first stage of education in Canada is optional except in New Brunswick and Nova Scotia, where it is mandatory.

2. Primary or elementary education
(Mandatory for everyone)

The curriculum usually covers subjects such as reading, math, the English language (French in Quebec), history, science, music, social studies, physical education, and art.

There are 6 grades in this:

  • Grade 1 (ages 6–7)
  • Grade 2 (ages 7–8)
  • Grade 3 (ages 8–9)
  • Grade 4 (ages 9–10)
  • Grade 5 (ages 10–11)
  • Grade 6 (ages 11–12)
3. Secondary education
(consists of two distinct levels)
  • junior high school (grades 7-8 | ages 12-14)
  • high school (grades 9-17 | ages 14-18)
    the curriculum is aimed to prepare students for higher education, some provinces even offer job training at the high school level.
4. Post-secondary or tertiary education

includes college and university programs and vocational/technical schooling

Type of school institutions:

There are 3 school types in Canada:

  • Public schools: many of them are now accepting international students into their standard programs.
  • Religious schools: these schools teach both the regular school curriculum as well as religious teachings associated with the specific religion of the schools.
  • Private schools: these schools are not funded by the government and often come with high price tags which can range from approximately CAD 8000 to CAD 14000 per year. The way private schools deliver programs may differ from the public ones (small classes, specialized curriculum etc.)